NASSCAL Publication Series: Early Christian Apocrypha

The Early Christian Apocrypha series is the second of two NASSCAL publishing partnerships with Polebridge Press. The goal of this particular partnership is to provide a venue for Christian Apocrypha scholars in the society to publish accessible and up-to-date translations of the more widely-known texts of the apocryphal “canon.” The More New Testament Apocrypha series published by Eerdmans, also created as a venue for the work of North American scholars, focuses primarily on late antique texts. Together these two series (and, of course, the Studies in Christian Apocrypha monograph series with Polebridge) offer excellent and, we hope, exciting opportunities for our colleagues to share their work, not only with their fellow scholars, but also non-scholars interested in Christian Apocrypha. If you would like to contribute to the series please contact one of the series editors. The complete press release is presented below.



Polebridge Press logoPolebridge Press, in collaboration with the North American Society for the Study of Christian Apocryphal Literature (NASSCAL), is pleased to announce the continuation of the Studies in Christian Apocrypha series.

The Early Christian Apocrypha series features fresh new translations of major apocryphal texts that survive from the early period of the Christian church. These non-canonical writings are crucial for determining the complex history of Christian origins. Each translation is accompanied by appendices, textual notes, translation notes, cross references and index. An extensive introduction also sets out the challenge of recovering and reconstructing the original text.

The North American Society for the Study of Christian Apocryphal Literature is a scholarly organization dedicated to the study of the Christian Apocrypha. The society was founded in 2014 with the goal of fostering collaboration between North American scholars in the field and cognate disciplines. It welcomes participation from scholars at all stages of their careers, including graduate study.


8. The Infancy Gospel of James, by Lily Vuong with Brandon Hawk (2017)
9. The Infancy Gospel of Thomas, by Tony Burke (2017)
10. The Gospel of Pseudo-Matthew, by Brandon Hawk (2017)

Published Volumes

1. The Acts of Andrew, by Dennis R. MacDonald
2. The Epistle of the Apostles, by Julian V. Hills
3. The Acts of Thomas, by Harold W. Attridge
4. The Acts of Peter, by Robert F. Stoops Jr.
5. Didache: The Teaching of the Twelve Apostles, by Clayton N. Jefford
6. The Acts of John, by Richard I. Pervo with Julian V. Hills
7. The Acts of Paul and Thecla, by Julian V. Hills (forthcoming 2017)

Series Editors

Tony Burke, York University

Janet Spittler, University of Virginia

Brent Landau, University of Texas at Austin

Stephen Patterson, Willamette University